arrow-next arrow-scroll arrow-short arrow check close dropdown facebook instagram linkedin search twitter

Mary Lidstrom

Date: September 14, 2017

VP for Office of Research
Assistant: 206-685-1751

• Academic program strategy
• Operations oversight
• Coordination with UW partners and academic network

University of Washington Vice Provost for Research
Frank Jungers Endowed Chair of Engineering
Professor, Chemical Engineering and Microbiology

Mary Lidstrom is the Vice Provost for Research, a Professor in Chemical Engineering and Microbiology and holds the Frank Jungers Chair of Engineering at the University of Washington. She has served as Vice Provost for Research since 2005.

She received a B.S. in Microbiology from Oregon State University, and a M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Bacteriology from the University of Wisconsin. Dr. Lidstrom conducted postdoctoral work as a Leverhulme Fellow in Microbiology at the University of Sheffield, and has held academic appointments in the Center for Great Lakes Studies in Milwaukee, Wisconsin and in Environmental Engineering Science at the California Institute of Technology.

Research in Dr. Lidstrom’s laboratory is focused on molecular and metabolic manipulations of bacteria that grow on one-carbon compounds. She is especially interested in research of both laboratory cultures and environmental communities of these bacteria, with applications to greenhouse gas emissions and sustainable energy.

Professor Lidstrom has a long history of carrying out interdisciplinary education and research at the engineering/biology interface, and has been honored by the National Science Foundation, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Academy of Microbiology, and the American Society for Microbiology for her outstanding achievements. She also oversees the UW Genomics Outreach to Minorities program, co-leads the UW Global Innovation Exchange program, and sits on the external board for Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences.